Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
10

Demo 1, Segment 3

This weeks video will run 10 minutes.
10

Hey… Like I mentioned on the free version that went out early Friday morning, it’s been a busy week so I spent the time editing and doing the audio on a longer clip than usual. I am probably going to leave it at that this week and say Thank you for continuing to be a paid subscriber to Crayolas Set Me Free. I am grateful and am finding the interaction and this way to share some things, invaluable for me. I hope it’s at the very, least enjoyable for you.

“All paintings start out of a mood, out of a relationship with things or people, out of a complete visual impression. To call this expression abstract seems to me often to confuse the issue. Abstract means literally to draw from or separate. In this sense every artist is abstract . . . a realistic or non-objective approach makes no difference. The result is what counts.” - Richard Diebenkorn

I’m reading the second of two volumes on Richard Diebenkorn. The first is Richard Diebenkorn, The Beginnings, 1942-1955, and Richard Diebenkorn, The Berkeley Years, 1953-1966. Really well done volumes on a painter who we’ve probably all heard of, maybe studied the work of. To me there’s nothing more interesting than sitting down with a well written book about a painter from the past, no matter what type of work that they produced, and listening to how their lives held so many close parallels to ours today. The art world has changed A LOT over the years, we know that. But how artists have had to deal with the insatiable desire to create and still function in the world as citizens and sellers of their work, has been the same old story for a long time. The ebb and flow of who he thought he was as a painter, and how he managed and worked around that and what society wanted, what the art world wanted, from him and others, is fascinating. I recommend these, and others about him, if he is of any interest to you at all.

I hope that you enjoy the video this week. I think that next week will end this first demo video lesson. Let me know what you think.

Cheers,

Marc

10 Comments
Crayolas Set Me Free
Authors
Marc R. Hanson