Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
8

Demo #1...It's here!

Thank you for being a paid subscriber. I hope you enjoy and learn something from this!
8

Good morning! You should have also received the free blog emailing this morning. So you know some of the details. I’ll include a few more here.

I plan to send this out in about 4 or 5 installments. Mainly because the general consensus from the poll question is that videos longer than 5 to 7 minutes are too long. That’s a good thing, because longer videos take a hell of a long time to upload and manage. Each release will be a progression video cut from the main video. So you’ll see this in sequence. I’m posting the finished piece each week so you can refer to it as each video progresses.

‘Marshside’ 8x10 oil on cradled panel.
The cropped (so it would fit the 8x10 format) acrylic sketch from the sketchbook.
The full 6x9 sketch, not cropped for the 8x10 format of the oil painting. It’s this sketchbook.

Below is the palette for this painting and the mediums I use. I mix W&N Griffin Alkyd white and Utrecht Titanium white together 50:50 so that I get a quicker setting up and drying of the oil paint. This is close to my basic palette but it does vary based on needs. I have one taboret that I use. When I switch out mediums, I want the glass surface clean from either oil or acrylic residue. I paint with acrylics more now, so it’s most important to me to reserve it for them. Using a StayWet Palette and Grey Matters palette paper in it to hold my oils keeps my taboret clean for a quick switch to acrylics. I mix both on the glass, but both are easily cleaned using rubbing alcohol. I’ve found this works very well for me.

In the demo painting I’m using primarily three brushes. Two are Utrecht ‘Rhenish’ brushes. A long flat #5 and bright #6, the other is a Princeton Snap series bright #8 (the ones that are something like $5.99 any size at Blick). The Utrecht Rhenish line is also very affordable, but a nice brush that I get a lot of mileage out of. I believe it’s a blend of natural and synthetic, so it also works well with water based acrylics. Gamblin Neo Megilp and Galkyd (lite or regular) are my main mediums. Mostly for flow and drying time needs.

Thank you again for being a paid subscriber. If you like all of this, be sure to share it with your colleagues, or anyone who you think would be interested.

Cheers,

Marc

8 Comments
Crayolas Set Me Free
Authors
Marc R. Hanson