Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
8

Demo 1, The End!

8 minutes
8

Well, you’ve made it through my very first full length painting demo! Thank you.

Truth is, I had a great time painting it, of course. But I Really enjoyed the voice over task. I hope that it was intelligible, and that what you gained was worth more than the time spent watching. Let me know.

I also hope that you saw the ‘free’ version of Crayolas Set Me Free, where I gave anyone who read it a headache, describing how to build a wet panel carrier?! It really isn’t as hard as it sounds. You’re all visually inclined, look at the pictures and go at it.

Again, you have my full appreciation for being a paid subscriber to this venture. I will be coming up with something else between now and next Friday, so please stay tuned.

Share

Here are some of the paintings I mentioned that I’ve done since this demo piece. All on the 8x10 Ampersand 1-1/2” panels, Michael Harding Non Absorbent Primer with an acrylic tone applied.

First the demo piece in it’s final state. I darkened the buildings a bit with a glaze of Galkyd, ultramarine blue with a touch or cadmium red light.

Marshside
September’s Shift
Spring Rush
Lowcountry Ending

Leave a comment

Book recommendation for the week-

Walter Anderson, The Extraordinary Life And Art Of The Islander by Robert St. John and Anthony Thaxton

Robert St. John and Anthony Thaxton have combined their talents to publish an amazing volume of work about the world of Walter Inglis Anderson.

When I lived in northern Mississippi I made a painting trip down to Ocean Springs, MS, a quaint, artsy town on the Gulf Coast of Mississippi. I had no idea what to expect other than that I would be close to the Gulf and hadn’t been in that part of the world before. While there, I learned about the artist, Walter Anderson (1903-1965), maybe one of the most individually important artists in the South. It’s hard to even describe his life and work without visiting the Walter Anderson Museum in Ocean Springs, or reading this beautifully illustrated volume about his life and work. He and his art were unique, controversial, a hermit of sorts who would row miles off shore to a little island in the Gulf to just ‘be’. While there he literally painted thousands of studies of nature, most on typing paper. It’s a fascinating story, it’s fascinating art. If you are ever in Ocean Springs, a visit to the Walter Anderson Museum of Art is well worth it.

Cheers,

Marc

8 Comments
Crayolas Set Me Free
Authors
Marc R. Hanson