Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
14

Preview of my first Demo #1 video!

Whew... that was a lot of work!
14

Well, I finally did a demo video! I had no idea what this was about, to be honest. I have to say that it wasn’t all that hard to do. What consumed the most time was figuring out the set up for the camera, the editing, and voice over. The painting took about an hour, the entire hour plus recorded. I’ve spent almost 5 hours just editing the clips. There was a lot of dead space without a brush moving, and then another couple of hours adding the voice over. The resulting video is +/- 36 minutes.

The full video is being released in segments 6-8 minutes long (the poll answered that question), over the next 4-5 weeks, for the paid subscribers only. In each weekly newsletter to All, paid and free subscribers, I will post some stills of the progress. If you’re not satisfied with the progression stills, then upgrading to a paid subscription will give you the entire video. I know that’s not what you may want to hear, but this is a lot of work. I’ve posted the short video about how I tone a panel for you to see what to expect on the rest of the installments.

The benefit for those who become a paid subscriber is that they are contributing a small amount of support so that I may produce more of these videos and other material. Like I said, it takes quite a bit of time to do it all.

So thank you for your time, and for being a subscriber.

I decided to do an oil painting for this first demonstration video. It is an oil on a Ampersand 1-1/2” hardboard cradled panel, primed with Michael Harding’s Non Absorbent Acrylic Primer. I tone the acrylic primed surfaces with acrylic paint so that it dries instantly. In this case, I used a mix of bone black and raw umber as a cool tone against the warmth of the sky. This cuts down on the amount of light value showing the initial brush strokes that can make it look “scratchy”, something I like to avoid. There is some glare on this, something else to figure out as I go along.

The final painting in the demo video. “Marshside” - 8x10, oil on cradled panel.
This is the 6x9 plein air sketch in acrylic that I based the demonstration painting on.

If you enjoyed this, be sure to share it with your colleagues and friends. Consider upgrading to a paid subscription for full videos as they’re released.

Cheers,

Marc

14 Comments
Crayolas Set Me Free
Authors
Marc R. Hanson